Poor oral health can affect your overall health. Conditions such as oral pain, missing teeth or oral infections can influence the way you speak, eat and socialize. These conditions can impact your quality of life by affecting your physical, mental and social well-being. Follow these tips to maintain good oral and overall health!

Reduce consumption of sugary drinks and make water your drink of choice

Sugar is one of the main causes of dental problems. Sugary drinks are also major source of sugars in the diets of pre-teens and teens. As a result, consuming sugary drinks may lead to increased risk of cavities for children, and obesity and type 2 diabetes for the entire population.

Drinking water keeps you hydrated without the added sugars, calories, sodium, and saturated fats, and it helps your body to get rid of waste. Fluoridated drinking water also has added oral health benefits – protecting teeth against cavities.

5 steps mini poster

Five steps to improve your oral health

As part of a healthy lifestyle and to help reduce the risk of oral disease, follow CDA's five steps to good oral health.

Other helpful tips and resources

Parents, caregivers and teachers: Talk to your children about maintaining good oral health in a fun way by using CDA's teaching resources.

Know what's in your food: Read the Nutrition Facts table and the ingredient list on packaged foods. Check out CDA's sugar smart videos on muffins, yoghurt, ketchup and dried fruit.

Learn about living a healthy, well-balanced lifestyle:

Canada's Food Guide:

Heart and Stroke Foundation Canada:

Unlockfood.ca by Dietitians of Canada

Une mauvaise santé buccodentaire peut nuire à la santé générale. Un mal de dents, une dent manquante ou une infection buccale peut affecter votre façon de parler, de manger, d'entretenir des relations sociales. Ces troubles peuvent perturber votre qualité de vie en nuisant à votre bien‐être physique, mental et social. Suivez ces conseils pour maintenir une bonne santé buccodentaire et favoriser la santé générale!

Réduisez votre consommation de boissons sucrées et faites de l'eau votre boisson de choix

Le sucre est l'une des principales causes des troubles dentaires. Les boissons sucrées constituent une source importante de sucre dans l'alimentation des préadolescents et des adolescents. La consommation de boissons sucrées peut augmenter le risque de caries chez les enfants et le risque d'obésité et de diabète de type 2 chez l'ensemble de la population.

Boire de l'eau vous permet de vous hydrater sans consommer de sucre ajouté, de calories, de sodium ou de gras saturés. L'eau aide votre corps à éliminer les déchets. L'eau fluorée a des avantages supplémentaires pour la santé buccodentaire en protégeant les dents contre la carie.

5 steps mini poster

Cinq conseils pour une bonne santé buccodentaire

Pour maintenir un mode de vie sain et pour limiter les risques de maladies buccodentaires, suivez les cinq conseils de l'ADC pour favoriser une bonne santé buccodentaire. Téléchargez l'affiche.

Autres conseils et ressources utiles

Parents, éducatrices et personnel enseignant : Parlez aux enfants de l'importance de maintenir une bonne santé buccodentaire en utilisant les ressources éducatives ludiques de l'ADC.

Sachez ce que contient votre nourriture : Lisez le tableau des valeurs nutritives et la liste des ingrédients sur les aliments emballés. Regardez les vidéos de l'ADC sur la teneur en sucre des muffins, du yogourt, du ketchup et des fruits secs.

Apprenez à mener une vie saine et équilibrée :

Guide alimentaire canadien :

Fondation des maladies du cœur et de l'AVC du Canada :

Unlockfood.ca/fr des Diététistes du Canada