CDSPI advertisement for Members Assistance Program

Free counselling, referral and information service for dentists, dental office employees, and their families.

For businesses, the Canadian government has introduced 3 programs: 2 wage subsidies and a loan program to help Canadian businesses facing hardship as a result of the Covid-19 outbreak. Whether these programs are applicable to a dental practice depends on the business organization of the practice, and more specifically, the business structure in which the employees are paid. The government programs are listed below, and in more detail on the Federal Programs page. The following pages provide detail on how the programs apply to different dental practice business structures:

Federal Government Programs for Business

  1. Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy (CEWS)

    CEWS is a subsidy that covers 75 percent of salaries for eligible entities, for up to 12 weeks, retroactive to March 15, 2020. It is intended that employers of all sizes and across all sectors of the economy would be eligible except for public sector entities.

  2. Temporary Wage Subsidy for Employers (TWS)

    Should your business not qualify for the CEWS, it may qualify for the previously announced wage subsidy of 10 percent of remuneration paid from March 18 to before June 20, 2020, up to $1,375 for each eligible employee and to a maximum of $25,000 total per eligible employer.

  3. Canada Emergency Business Account (CEBA)

    The Canada Emergency Business Account (CEBA) is available for eligible businesses and provides for a loan up to $40,000 to fund certain expenses incurred by the business. The loan is interest free up to December 31, 2022 and no principal payments are required. If you pay at least 75 percent of the loan ($30,000) by December 31, 2022 then the remaining $10,000 is forgiven.

    If the loan balance is not repaid by December 31, 2022, then the loan is converted into a term loan with a 5 percent interest rate and due December 31, 2025. No principal payments are due during the term of the loan; however, the full balance is due at December 31, 2025.

Federal Government Programs for Individuals

For individuals, dental office staff and qualifying dentists, the Canada Emergency Response Benefit is available if the criteria are met.

  1. Canada Emergency Response Benefit (CERB)

    A taxable benefit of $2,000 for a 4-week period, up to 16 weeks is available to eligible workers who have lost their income due to COVID-19. Generally, this will be available to workers who have ceased work for at least 14 consecutive days within the initial four-week application period due to reasons related to COVID-19, and they do not receive income in respect of the consecutive days they ceased work.

    Recently, the Government announced changes to the CERB program to expand eligibility to situations where an individual earns $1,000 (before taxes) or less during an eligibility period. If this applies to your situation, you may be eligible to apply for a previous period, starting March 15, 2020.

There is more detail on each of the federal programs on this page

Need help? The Canadian Dental Association's Help Desk is available to dentists and dental office employees across Canada to provide guidance on how to navigate and access federal government support programs. Please call toll-free 1-866-232-0385, Mon-Fri, from 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. EDT. This information does not replace professional legal or accounting advice. To find the best approach to meet specific needs, individuals are encouraged to consult a lawyer, accountant or banker.

CDSPI advertisement for Members Assistance Program

Ce service offre gratuitement des services de counselling, d'orientation vers des spécialistes et d'information pour les dentistes, leur personnel et leur famille.

Le gouvernement du Canada a lancé trois programmes pour les entreprises : deux programmes de subvention salariale et un programme de prêts pour aider les sociétés en situation précaire à cause de la COVID-19. L'admissibilité d'un cabinet dentaire à ces programmes dépend de son modèle d'entreprise et plus précisément de la structure d'affaires en place pour payer son personnel. Les programmes gouvernementaux sont décrits sommairement ci-dessous et en détail à la page des Programmes fédéraux. Les pages suivantes expliquent en quoi ces programmes sont pertinents pour différentes structures de cabinet dentaire :

Programmes du gouvernement fédéral pour les entreprises

  1. Subvention salariale d'urgence du Canada (SSUC)

    La SSUC couvre 75 % des salaires pour les entités admissibles pendant une période maximale de 12 semaines rétroactive au 15 mars 2020. Les employeurs de toutes tailles et de tous les secteurs de l'économie sont admissibles, à l'exception des entités du secteur public.

  2. Subvention salariale temporaire (SST) pour les employeurs

    Si votre entreprise n'a pas droit à la SSUC, elle pourrait être admissible à la subvention salariale annoncée précédemment, qui équivaut à 10 % de la rémunération versée entre le 18 mars 2020 et le 20 juin 2020 exclusivement, jusqu'à concurrence de 1 375 $ par employé admissible et de 25 000 $ par employeur admissible.

  3. Compte d'urgence pour les entreprises canadiennes (CUEC)

    Grâce au CUEC, les entreprises admissibles peuvent obtenir un prêt pouvant aller jusqu'à 40 000 $ pour couvrir certaines dépenses. Ce prêt est sans intérêt jusqu'au 31 décembre 2022, et aucun paiement sur le capital n'est exigé. L'entreprise qui a remboursé au moins 75 % du montant emprunté (30 000 $) au 31 décembre 2022 profite d'une radiation du solde restant (10 000 $).

    Si l'entreprise n'a pas effectué ce remboursement au 31 décembre 2022, le prêt est converti en prêt à terme à 5 %, et l'échéance est fixée au 31 décembre 2025. Aucun remboursement du capital n'est exigé pour la durée du prêt, mais le solde complet est payable à l'échéance.

Programme du gouvernement fédéral pour les particuliers

Les particuliers, le personnel des cabinets dentaires et certains dentistes peuvent profiter de la Prestation canadienne d'urgence s'ils répondent aux critères d'admissibilité.

  1. Prestation canadienne d'urgence (PCU)

    La PCU est une prestation imposable de 2 000 $ par mois offerte pour une durée de 4 à 16 semaines aux travailleurs admissibles qui sont sans revenu en raison de la COVID-19. Elle s'adresse généralement aux travailleurs qui ont arrêté de travailler pendant un minimum de 14 jours consécutifs au cours de la période de demande initiale de 4 semaines pour des raisons liées à la COVID-19 et qui n'ont pas touché de revenu pour ces jours consécutifs sans travail.

    Récemment, le gouvernement a élargi les règles d'admissibilité à la PCU pour inclure les personnes qui ont gagné 1 000 $ ou moins (avant impôt) durant une période d'admissibilité. Si tel est votre cas, vous pourriez maintenant avoir droit à la prestation pour une période précédente, à partir du 15 mars 2020.

    Les programmes gouvernementaux sont décrits en détail à la page des Programmes fédéraux.

Besoin d'aide? Le centre d'assistance de l'ADC peut aider les dentistes et le personnel des cabinets dentaires de tout le Canada à s'y retrouver dans la série de programmes d'aide du gouvernement fédéral et à y avoir accès. Il suffit de téléphoner sans frais au 1-866-232-0385, du lundi au vendredi, entre 7 h 30 et 20 h (HAE). Ces renseignements ne remplacent pas les conseils d'un professionnel en matière de droit et de comptabilité. Afin de répondre à vos besoins spécifiques, nous vous encourageons à consulter un avocat, un comptable ou un conseiller bancaire.