CDA Essentials 2018 • Volume 5 • Issue 7

13 Issue 7 | 2018 | Photographs: Teckles Photo Inc. was a focal point and conversation starter. Ashton used the words and comments of convention attendees to get inspiration for this unique piece of oral health artwork— created in real-time on a large scale. The final evening of the convention featured a traditional lobster dinner along with musical entertainment from P.E.I.’s own Atlantic String Machine and Lennie Gallant. “For those fortunate enough to attend, Lennie and his band did not disappoint, showcasing their original Maritime music for those who’d came to the Island from across Canada,” said Dr. Holden. The DAPEI COC expressed its appreciation to the companies that participated in the convention’s trade show, along with the sponsors and convention partners who contributed to the event. “The success of this year’s convention relied on the generosity and support of the dental industry,” says Dr. Brian Barrett, chair of the COC. “The event simply wouldn’t have been the same without this support, for which we are grateful.” The sponsors of the 2018 convention were Diamond Partners : CDSPI, Dental Association of Prince Edward Island, dentalcorp; Platinum : Henry Schein; Gold : Crest/Oral-B, Nobel Biocare, Patterson Dental, SciCan; Silver : CIBC, DFK Canada, East Coast Dental Group, Maxident, Quikcard, SirinMed, Straumann. The 2019 CDA Convention will be held in Saskatoon from September 12 to 14, hosted by the 2019 Saskatchewan Oral Health Conference and the College of Dental Surgeons of Saskatchewan. a ➊ ➋ ➌ ➍ ➎ ➏ ➐ ➑ Capturing the Moments... ➊ Heather Moyse (l.), double Olympic Gold medalist, with Charlee Holden, Lauren Holden and Dr. Joanne Stewart. ➋ Dr. Deborah Stymiest, CDA past- president (2008-09) and Dr. Brian Barrett. ➌ Dr. Michael Connolly, DAPEI president. ➍ Dr. Ralph Crawford, CDA past-president (1984-85) and Mrs. Olga Crawford. ➎ Members of the Convention Organizing Committee (COC); (L. to r.) Dr. Connolly, DAPEI president, COC chair of exhibits and sponsors; Dr. Dana Coles, COC chair of social events; Dr. Stewart, COC chair of promotion, Dr. Richard Holden, CDA Board of Directors and COC co-chair of continuing education; Dr. Barrett, chair, CDA-DAPEI 2018 Convention. ➏ (L. to r.) Dr. Larry Levin, CDA past-president (2017-18), Monique Taillon and Dr. Mitch Taillon, CDA president. ➐ Lennie Gallant. ➑ Dr. Taillon at the lobster dinner.